Board of Directors

Samuel Hügli

Samuel Hügli

Samuel Hügli has been a member of the Zattoo Board of Directors since 2017 and Chairman since 2019. At Tamedia he has been a member of the Executive Board since January 2017. He is responsible for the Technology & Ventures Division, which also includes the platforms doodle.com, meekan.com, olmero.ch/renovero.ch and starticket.ch. Between 2000 and 2011, Samuel Hügli held various positions at Ringier. As Head of Technology & Informatics and later as Group CIO, he was in charge of the media company’s IT before he was appointed CFO of the Ringier Group in 2007. In 2012, Samuel Hügli became an independent management consultant for companies in Switzerland and in South Africa. He also served on several boards of directors. The trained typographer holds different management degrees from the ZFU, the St. Gallen Business School as well as the London Business School. Most recently, he attended a Strategic Business Management course at the University of Cape Town in South Africa.

Johannes Braun

Johannes Braun

Johannes Braun has been a member of the board of Zattoo since 2018. Educated at University of St. Gallen and Marietta College, he worked for Roland Berger, Geberit, Triumph, Porsche and Publicitas/NewBase where he was responsible for its international business.

Franz Bürgi

Franz Bürgi

Franz Bürgi has been a member of the board of Zattoo since 2019. He studied electrical engineering at ETH Zurich and holds an Executive MBA from the University of St. Gallen. In his professional career he worked i.a. for Swisscom (Multinational Corporations, Head of Marketing & Business Management), Espace Media Groupe (CIO, Member of the Executive Management) and Mediapulse AG for Media Research (Managing Director). As Group CIO he has been managing Tamedia's IT since 2017 with the technology areas Enterprise Infrastructure, Collaboration & Workplace, Publishing and Paid Media & Distribution.

Dr. Markus Dennler

Dr. Markus Dennler

Doctor Markus Dennler has been a member of the board of Zattoo since 2009. Markus is a member of the board of Swissquote Holding AG, president of Allianz Suisse as well as a councillor on the British-Swiss Chamber of Commerce. After working in a law office, Markus moved on to what is now the Credit Suisse Group and became a member of the executive board of Credit Suisse Financial Services in 2000. At the beginning of 2005 Markus went independent as a lawyer in Zurich. Markus holds a doctorate in law from the University of Zurich and he was admitted to the Bar of Zurich. He also attended the International Bankers School in New York and the Harvard Business School in Boston.

Dr. Marcus Englert

Dr. Marcus Englert

Doctor Marcus Englert has been a member of the board of Zattoo since 2019. At ProSiebenSat.1 Media AG, he was member of the board and Chief New Media Officer from 2006 to 2010. He was responsible for many activities including German pay TV, video-on-demand, participation TV, radio, online and business development. Before this position, he was Managing Director of SevenOne Intermedia GmbH and has also held positions at Kirch New Media AG and Boston Consulting Group. In the years 2015 to 2018 he was already a Board member of Zattoo. Marcus Englert holds a Doctorate of physics and an MBA from INSEAD.

Bea Knecht

Bea Knecht

Bea Knecht is the founder of Zattoo and a member of the Board of Zattoo. Prior to co-founding Zattoo, Bea built banking, HR, and datacenter automation software for large banks, enterprise software providers and a Silicon Valley startup and served as associate partner at a strategy consulting firm. Bea holds a BA in Computer Science from the University of California (Berkeley) and an MBA degree from IMD in Lausanne, Switzerland. (photo: KEYSTONE/Gaëtan Bally)

Verwaltungsrat

Samuel Hügli

Samuel Hügli

Samuel Hügli ist seit 2017 Mitglied des Verwaltungsrates bei Zattoo und seit 2019 Verwaltungsratspräsident. Bei Tamedia ist er seit Januar 2017 Mitglied der Unternehmensleitung und zuständig für den Bereich Technologie & Beteiligungen, der auch die Verantwortung für die Plattformen doodle.com, meekan.com, olmero.ch/renovero.ch sowie starticket.ch umfasst. Samuel Hügli war zwischen 2000 und 2011 in verschiedenen Funktionen für Ringier tätig. Als Leiter Technik & Informatik sowie später als Group CIO verantwortete er die IT des Medienhauses bevor er 2007 zum CFO der Ringier Gruppe ernannt wurde. Ab 2012 beriet Samuel Hügli als selbständiger Unternehmensberater Unternehmen in der Schweiz und in Südafrika, zudem war er Mitglied verschiedener Verwaltungsräte. Der ausgebildete Typograph absolvierte verschiedene Managementausbildungen, unter anderem an der ZFU, der St. Gallen Business School sowie der London Business School und besuchte zuletzt eine Strategic Business Management Ausbildung an der University of Cape Town in Südafrika.

Johannes Braun

Johannes Braun

Johannes Braun ist seit 2018 Mitglied des Verwaltungsrates bei Zattoo. Nach seiner Ausbildung an der Universität St. Gallen und seinem Abschluss am Marietta College in den USA arbeitete er für Roland Berger, Geberit, Triumph, Porsche und Publicitas/NewBase, wo er für das internationale Geschäft verantwortlich war.

Franz Bürgi

Franz Bürgi

Franz Bürgi ist seit 2019 Mitglied des Verwaltungsrates. Er studierte an der ETH Zürich Elektrotechnik und verfügt über einen Executive MBA der Hochschule St. Gallen. Seine beruflichen Stationen sind u.a. Swisscom (Multinational Corporations, Head of Marketing & Business Management), Espace Media Groupe (CIO, Mitglied der Unternehmensleitung) und Mediapulse AG für Medienforschung (Geschäftsführer). Als Group CIO führt er seit 2017 die IT der Tamedia mit den Technologiebereichen Enterprise Infrastructure, Collaboration & Workplace, Publishing sowie Paid Media & Distribution.

Dr. Markus Dennler

Dr. Markus Dennler

Dr. Markus Dennler ist seit 2009 Mitglied des Verwaltungsrates bei Zattoo. Er schloss sein Studium an der Universität Zürich mit dem Doktor der Jurisprudenz ab und erhielt das Anwaltspatent in Zürich. Er besuchte die International Bankers School in New York und die Harvard Business School in Boston. Herr Dennler ist Mitglied des Verwaltungsrates der Swissquote Holding AG und Präsident der Allianz Suisse sowie Vorstandsmitglied der British-Swiss Chamber of Commerce. Er trat 1986 in die Credit Suisse Group ein und wurde im Jahr 2000 Mitglied der Geschäftsleitung der Credit Suisse Financial Services. Anfang 2005 machte er sich in Zürich als Rechtsanwalt selbstständig.

Dr. Marcus Englert

Dr. Marcus Englert

Dr. Marcus Englert ist seit 2019 Mitglied des Verwaltungsrates. Er war bei ProSiebenSat.1 Media AG im Vorstand und Chief New Media Officer von 2006 bis 2010. In dieser Funktion war u.a. verantwortlich für das deutsche Pay TV Angebot, Video-on-Demand, interaktives Fernsehen, Radio, Online- und Business Development. Davor war er als Managing Director bei SevenOne Media GmbH sowie in verschiedenen Positionen bei Kirch New Media AG und der Boston Consulting Group tätig. In den Jahren 2015 bis 2018 war er bereits im Verwaltungsrat von Zattoo. Marcus Englert besitzt ein Doktorat der Physik und ein MBA des Insead.

Bea Knecht

Bea Knecht

Bea Knecht ist Gründerin von Zattoo und Mitglied im Verwaltungsrat. Vor der Mitbegründung von Zattoo entwickelte sie Software-Produkte für Banking, HR und Datacenter Automatisierung. Zuvor war sie tätig als Associate Partnerin in einer Strategieberatungsfirma. Bea erwarb einen BA in Informatik von der University of California (Berkeley) und einen MBA vom IMD in Lausanne. (Foto: KEYSTONE/Gaëtan Bally)